Mangalagiri is a town, and a mandal of Guntur District of Andhra Pradesh, India and is a part of Vijayawada urban agglomeration. It is situated on the Guntur-Vijayawada road, 13 km from Vijayawada and 21 km from Guntur City.Mangalagiri was under the control of Golkonda Nawabs for a long period. It was plundered by in 1780 by Hyder Ali but could not be conquered.
History of Mangalagiri: Mangalagiri means 'The holy hill'. Near the foot of the stone flight of steps is a stone pillar with a Telugu inscription, recording grants of villages. It is dated AD 1520 and mentions the capture of Kondavidu by Timmarasu, general of Krishna Deva Raya, in 1515 from the Gajapati rulers of Kalinga(ancient Orissa). Another stone near the temple of Garudalvar has inscriptions on four sides recording grants in the reign of Sadasiva Raya of Vijayanagara Empire AD 1538. The lofty gopuram in the temple at the foot of the hill was erected by Raja Vasireddy Venkatadri Nayudu in 1807-1809.
Mangalagiri was under the control of Golkonda Nawabs for a long period. It was plundered by in 1780 by Hyder Ali but could not be conquered. In 1816, a gang of Pindaris again looted the place. It slowly recovered from these two attacks during the time of Raja Vasireddy Venkatadri Nayudu who ruled the place from Amaravati. There is a big koneru (tank) in the center of the place which went to dry in 1882. As many as 9,840 guns and 44 bullets which might have been related to pindaris have been found here after the pindaris looted this place. View of Mangalagiri town mangalagiri
The picturesque hill was visited by the great Sri Krishna Deva Raya.
Map Location of Mangalagiri